The Group of Seven

The Group of Seven was a group of Canadian landscape painters in the 1910s, originally consisting of Franklin Carmichael, Lawren Harris, A. Y. Jackson, Frank Johnston, Arthur Lismer, J. E. H. MacDonald, and Frederick Varley. Tom Thomson was also associated with the Group of Seven, but was never an official member, since he died before the Group of Seven was formed.

The Group of Seven was strongly influenced by European Impressionism of the late Nineteenth Century in the Montmartre district of Paris. The artists of the Group of Seven were also strongly influenced by Post-Impressionism, creating bold, vividly-colored canvases, and infusing elements of the landscape with symbolic meaning.  

Joseph Giunta
Vista Laurentiens
Oil 61 x 91.5 cm

Individually and collectively, the artists who were to make up the Group of Seven were searching for a new way of painting -- a way of painting which would allow them to express what they believed were the distinctive attributes of Canada. By the late 1910s, the Group of Seven' ideas had progressed to the point where they found themselves drawn to exhibit together. In 1920, they held their first exhibition as the Group of Seven.

Joseph Giunta and the Group of Seven
A young Joseph Giunta, who was nineteen in 1930, had no choice but to undertake his artistic career according to what he saw around him * , and to the ensuing influences of the Group of Seven. Joseph Giunta began painting much like the Group of Seven had, dominated by the artistic scene, basing the realization of their efforts on the renewal of old formula like those of impressionism.

For more information on Joseph Giunta and the influences of the Group of Seven see:
The Work of Joseph Giunta: Periods, Processes and Techniques.

Copyright © 2007 Cabl'Art all rights reserved.
The contents of this site are protected under copyright law.
It is strictly forbidden to reproduce any of them.